“I Tried To Negotiate With God”: Lupita Nyong’o Prayed For Lighter Skin As A Child

90ae1a_227b9fc4d0f94f339732ddd056da1d27.jpgRecently, Lupita Nyong’o has caught everyone’s attention with her stunning performance in 12 Years A Slave. Although she has become the new fashion icon of our time, Nyong’o revealed there was a time she didn’t always feel beautiful. On Thursday, Essence Magazine honored Nyong’o at their Black Women in Hollywood luncheon. Upon her accepting Essence’s Best Breakthrough Performance Award, Nyong’o moved the audience to tears. In her speech, Nyong’o spoke about her self-esteem. Lupita admitted, as  a child  she prayed that God would lighten her skin.”

This article really touched my heart because I went through the SAME EXACT phase as a child! I would pray to God every night to lighten my skin and magically make my hair long/straight. When my appearance remained constant I tried to make deals with God in order to get what I wanted. However, I ended up staying exactly the way God created me. With age I learned to love and appreciate my appearance. Now I am at a point where I want to improve the self-esteem of young girls who are in the position I used to be in. Lupita Nyong’o is a perfect role model for girls with self-esteem issues because she embraces her natural beauty. It is nice to have her as a positive image in the media.

What are your thoughts on Lupita’s speech at Essence’s Black Women in Hollywood Luncheon?

Leave a Reply

