I Don’t Date Black Girls!

dv1931008

How does it make you feel when you hear black men say “I don’t date black women, I only like white girls”? I don’t know about you, but that used to really upset me. While insulting me, those men are also insulting every black woman in their family. There is no doubt that that man is experiencing some form of self hate.

I remember in high school some of the black guys would go as far as saying:

“I will date any other race except black.”

“Black girls are at the bottom of the food chain, even below black men.” 

“They are double negatives.” 

Then they would start listing all the reasons why black girls are at the bottom of the food chain (ex: hair texture, harder for us to get jobs, stereotypes, too ghetto, always angry, to independent, how society views us, etc.) Hearing these things would break my heart and when I tried to fight back nothing ever worked because they had their mind set on never dating a black woman.

After a while I stopped trying to alter their opinions and I just let them stay team snowbunny”. I remember this is one of the reason why I used to HATE seeing interracial relationships (between a black man and a white woman) because of the things I heard in high school. I assumed all black guys that dated white women felt the same way as the narrow minded guys in my high school and it angered me. I soon learned that was not the case and I couldn’t judged all people based on my high school experiences. I would love to hear your opinions on this topic.

1. How does it make you feel when you hear black men say this?

2. Why do you think it’s so easy/common for a black man to date a white woman but so hard/rare for a black woman to date a white man?

Leave a Reply

