LEARN TO ENTERTAIN YOURSELF

              The idea that I need a man in order to be happy has affected me in the past, but luckily I was able to change that mindset and positively impact my life. It’s a great feeling to know I can live a fulfilling, happy, and successful life on my own without depending on a partner to get me there. I am not saying that I am an independent woman who DOESN’T NEED a man, but I am an independent woman who IS CONTENT in being on her own. HOWEVER, having a man is a wonderful bonus that can be added to my life.

             In class my teacher talked about healthy relationships and she said, “It’s sad how some women only feel happy when they are in a relationship. Women need to learn how to entertain themselves instead of waiting for a man to do it for them. It’s not healthy for a woman to seek out her self-worth through a man”. For example, it’s an issue when a woman doesn’t feel pretty unless she has confirmation from her boyfriend. Women too often get involved in bad relationships and stay there due to the belief that she is not good enough to find a better man, or she needs her partner in order to feel “complete”.

     In my opinion, co-dependency is very unhealthy because it requires approval and acceptance from a significant other in order to be happy. This can lead to abusive relationships, situations where a woman has to be financially dependent on her boyfriend, emotionally damaged, and much more. It is essential for women to learn how to be happy and love herself first before getting into a relationship. This type of confidence will attract the right kind of man and allow you to live a joyful life. Fortunately, there are ways to prevent co-dependency and it all starts with the improvement of self-esteem.

 

-Acknowledge your talents as well as your flaws.

-Learn how to produce self-joy and feelings of completeness by yourself

-Entertain yourself by going out and doing things you enjoy/have a passion for.

-Seek comfort in the fact the Lord will always love you and find inspirational texts in the bible that relate to any relationship, self-worth, or etc. issues you may have.

-Remind yourself that anyone would be lucky to have you and you don’t NEED a man in order to complete your life.

 

“When you give another person the power to define you, then you also give them the power to control you.”

 ― Leslie Vernick

“I don’t need a man to rectify my existence. The most profound relationship we’ll ever have is the one with ourselves.”

 ― Shirley MacLaine

Leave a Reply

